Vertical farming

For architecture students, what would be end of term papers for most students, are  graphic papers, pinned to the wall to the wall to be critiqued by visiting critics.  My first semester in grad school, I took a seminar in which I presented a poster which addressed issues of Chinese farming in Africa. As part of my research, I came across hundreds of creative farming ideas. 

Vertical farming might be one of my favorites.  The vertical farming guru is a Columbia University professor named Dickson Despommier, but there are numerous examples of theoretical skyscraper farms for urban environments, where space is limited, and food needs are plentiful.

Leave a Reply

